You're Only Massive pick the egoeccentric hangover mix

This weeks hangover cure comes from Maebh Cheasty (pictured above) of Waterford electro-poets You're Only Massive.

You're Only Massive will be busy in July , with the release Dot-Dash, a split 12" album with Queen Kong, and their gig/performance art piece, Disco-nnect.

Where's the mixtape? What the hell is Disco-necct? Find out in the read more...

Hangover Mix track listing:

1. Captain Beefheart- There Aint No Santa Claus On The Evenin Stage
2. Waiting Around To Die- Townes Van Zandt
3. Sufjan Stevens- John Wayne Gacy, Jr.
4. Leonard Cohen- Take This Longing
5. Leadbelly- Where Did You Sleep Last Night?
6. Dr. Octagon- Blue Flowers
7. Screamin' Jay Hawkins- I Put A Spell On You
8. Roots Manuva- Oh Yeah
9. Ellen Allien & Apparat- Way Out
10. Nas- Life's A Bitch
11. The Smiths- How Soon Is Now?
12. Tom Waits- Ice Cream Man

Click for mix

Disco-nnect is... "a guided walking tour around the south docklands that leads to a gig and a party. Beginning at the river, the tour will transform this corner of dublin 2 into a playground; a garden of fun. Your guide will invite you to participate in party games, cheerlead you along, teach you the macarena, introduce you to one another and encourage you to run amok. In an age of reality tv, it is important to note that you're only massive is on your side. They want you to feel good and won't ask you to do anything you don't want to".

The madness runs from Monday June 30th to Saturday July 5th as part of We Are Here 3.0 and tickets are available from or by calling Project Arts Centre on 01 8819600. Check out the Disco-nnect blog here.

Y.O.M. have an array of shows coming up in the next couple of months, lots in Ireland, and one all the way over in NYC for the Conflux Art & Technology festival. Come September the duo will be pioneering a new show based around Cooking & Domesticity entitled It's A Domestic (check that one out here).

For info on all these shows check out You're Only Massive on myspace (Where you can also download the band's new single Grand-Theft Hopkins which documents their beef with, um, someone... ). For now, here's the excellent funky poppness of Sugar Shake The Cool Away:

You're Only Massive- Sugar Shake The Cool Away

Click for mp3

Stumble Delicious Technorati Twitter Facebook